(322) Pop (Micro Memoir)

I recently attended a workshop with poet Kimberly Johnson at the Sanibel Island Writer’s Conference.  She challenged us to find words that are “ours.” She said:

Words are the interface between the deeply particular and the general world.

I wrote about the word “pop.”

POP. A signifier. I moved to Florida and was attending college. Someone was looking for something to drink. I casually said, “There’s a pop machine around the corner.”  Heads snapped.

“Are you from up north?”

How did they know? I was clueless.

Then they told me.

I had said POP.

 

2 thoughts on “(322) Pop (Micro Memoir)

Leave a Reply

