(318) Talk Me Down

It took me by surprise.

I was driving along Six Mile Cypress Drive, appreciating this perfect weather day and noticing the wood storks have returned. I had just passed the light at Metro Parkway when I saw it: a flashing sign advertising pet adoption day at our local Humane Society.

Cats $20

Dogs $50

I suddenly had this urge to drive in and see if there was a dog just for us.

Since our Macbeth passed on in April 2011, Jim and I haven’t thought once about having a dog again. They are expensive. They take a lot of attention. It has been easier to travel and do the things we want to do without one.

Yet, the tug…

I came home and said: Talk Me Down.

He didn’t say much.

Then I said, Do you want a dog?

He just shrugged.

I told him he has two hours to decide. The sale only goes until 3:30.

DSCN0731
Me and Macbeth, 2010
Leave a Reply

