(227) Computers

I had to get a new computer this week. The Mac I bought in 2007 finally just quite booting up, after at least a year of slow moving aggravation and random shutdowns.  Enough was enough.  

My new Mac has a larger screen and a cooler mouse. We had them transfer all my files over, and most everything made it, I think. There are still so many new things happening with the way to store information with clouds, I am never sure if I understand it. And even worse, I feel like a lot of these files that are transferred just need to be dumped.  More purging on the way.

Meanwhile, it has made me think about how computers have been ordinary in my life since I was in my early 20’s.  I attended a computer school and learned programming languages and how to operate the computer — which was gigantic, ran on punch cards, and filled a room that had to be kept at 72 degrees or cooler, or the whole thing shut down. My certificate enabled me to get hired running a computer in an accounting firm. Programming language was boring to me, and so I veered away from it.

My work in computers was unusual back in the 1970’s.  None of my friends went to college, and most worked as bank tellers or nurses aides or in labs developing photographs. The fact that I was in computers was actually kind of mysterious. I watched over the years as one friend after another slowly got over their fear of computers.

Computers led the way into new areas of my career. It moved me into accounting work and then credit and collections. It was a plus when I decided I wanted to buy the Money Mailer franchise, which required I design ads for clients on a Mac computer. That is what led me to Apple products, and I have never left.

This is my fifth Mac. Jim is on his second laptop. I have three iPods, one iPad, and we’ve had four iPhones.

Having a Mac II back in the 1980’s was a plus. I was fluent in the awesome Pagemaker program, and started an entire side business designing logos and brochures for my advertising clients. It was one of the most creative and fun times of my life. I was involved in my community, set my own schedule, and learned how the creative process worked.

All of it fell apart as Microsoft brought in design software, and my clients were able to do their own work. By then I was on to other things and didn’t care. Yet, when I moved to Florida, it was my knowledge of computers that helped me secure a job in Sony Customer Service, a job I’ve hated more than any other, but did pay for some of my early college years.

Now that I have my new computer, I no longer have an excuse not to spend some time here writing and actually polishing up some pieces.  My inner excuse for a long time has been the random shut down of the old computer. What if I lost my work? No worries now. And no excuses.

Leave a Reply

