(222) Gilead

image

Today is one of those days I just don’t feel I have anything to say. Instead of trying to conjure something up, I finished reading Gilead. It has taken me years to get to this book, and reading it now was perfect. She has two sequels to it, and I am eager to read them as well.

The best thing I have to offer today is three quotes I loved from the book. Maybe one will speak.

“…and it is true that we all do live in the ruins of the lives of of other generations, so there is seeming continuity which is important because it deceives us.” (198)

“There are a thousand thousand reasons to live this life, every one of them sufficient.” (243)

“Wherever you turn your eyes the world can shine like transfiguration. You don’t have to bring a thing to it except a little willingness to see. Only, who could have the courage to see it?” (245)

Leave a Reply

