(212) July 31 Hosanna

Yesterday I read a poem called “Hosanna”  by Ginny Lowe Connors. I noticed that the poem was one long sentence, fourteen lines long (but not a sonnet), and asked a question along with a ton of imagery. I decided this was my next mentor poem.

Today I visited the beach.  I think this is only the second time since school got out, which is a crying shame, but there it is. I wrote my Hosanna poem. Hosanna means many things: adoration, praise, joy, deliver, save. It all applies.

My poem and photos to support are below. August is upon us. Enjoy your day!

July 31 Hosanna

I wonder if I will remember this morning

waking at 4:20, to the beach by sunrise,

the high tide on the way out, a cool breeze

blowing, two pelicans in the sky, smooth clouds

and brilliant sun over the mangroves, hundreds

of shore birds, a Great Blue Heron on the end

of a mud flat meditating on the southern horizon,

morning glory vines decorating the sandy edge of the path,

a little red crab making his getaway, and my shadow

with me, walking past a community of Ruddy Turnstones,

on to the end where the stream from the bay enters

the mangroves to nourish and replenish,

the last day of July, joyfully saved by my own stillness

and willingness to see.

image
I wonder if I will remember this morning
image
the high tide on the way out, a cool breeze blowing
image
smooth clouds and brilliant sun over the mangroves
image
hundreds of shorebirds
image
Great Blue Heron on the end of a mud flat meditating on the southern horizon
image
little red crab making his getaway
image
past a community of Ruddy Turnstones
image
up to the end where the stream from the bay enters the mangroves to nourish and replenish
image
the last day of July, saved by my own stillness and willingness to see
Leave a Reply

