(209) Tribute: Amy Schumer

amy-schumer-peter-yang-2-dbf57ace07216174c5a9e744c8b22312daf4135d-s200-c85

I went to see Trainwreck the other day with my sister. It was hilarious and heartwarming and a bit tear-jerking. And we owe it all to Amy Schumer.

I may be slow to get on the Amy bandwagon, just as I was with Amy Poehler and Tina Fey, but it surely doesn’t mean I am not a huge fan. All three of these women are amazingly funny and direct and get it right every single time. I am in awe of their talent.

Amy Schumer is authentic and dares to be fully human. She has a schtick which is gloriously her own, and worked well in the RomCom she wrote. Yes, only her name is on the screenwriting credit, which means every bit of dialogue and entire plot was designed and written by her. That alone is amazing to me. Getting something done in Hollywood usually ends up being an intermingled affair. Somehow, she held control.

And I’m glad she did. I came out of this movie feeling like I did at the end of You’ve Got Mail, written by the late great Nora Ephron. I had tears in my eyes at times for sadness, and other times welling tears of joy. I smiled huge the last ten minutes of the film.  And just like the Harry Nilsson music in YGM, as well as the ending with “Over the Rainbow,” I will never hear “Uptown Girl” or “I Think I Love You” without thinking of Trainwreck.

Of course, being from Cleveland, I’ve gotta love this brilliant scene between Lebron James and Amy’s love interest in the film, Bill Hader.  It’s just one example of the terrific writing Amy does. Can’t wait to see what she does next.

Leave a Reply

