(160) The Guitar

Yesterday I came upon the poem “The Orange” by Wendy Cope.  I had forgotten all about this poem, but it is one that I knew.  I used it as a model for my own poem (see below).

The Orange

By Wendy Cope

At lunchtime I bought a huge orange
The size of it made us all laugh.
I peeled it and shared it with Robert and Dave—
They got quarters and I had a half.

And that orange it made me so happy,
As ordinary things often do
Just lately. The shopping. A walk in the park
This is peace and contentment. It’s new.

The rest of the day was quite easy.
I did all my jobs on my list
And enjoyed them and had some time over.
I love you. I’m glad I exist.

image
September 1997 with my new guitar.

I decided I wanted to write about the guitar I just brought out of years of storage.  Why I haven’t played  it…well, lots of reasons.  The poem tells a little more of the story.  I broke down Cope’s poem into syllable counts and rhyme scheme.  I also included an almost identical last line because let’s face it, that line really rocks and is what makes the poem memorable.

The Guitar

by Helen Sadler

Last weekend I unearthed my Martin,
A guitar from my long ago past.
I vowed it was time to play it once again.
Just strumming it really was a blast.

When I bought it I had a vision
Of myself playing my own song.
It has never come to be, but now — maybe.
Meanwhile, I have songs to play along.

So, sweet Martin guitar, you’re back.
This time I swear I will persist.
No matter our journey, one thing is for sure
I love you. I’m glad you exist.

I read the poem to my husband Jim and he suggested that maybe this is my first song. He says all it needs is a chorus.  I’m not so sure about that, but hey, time will tell.

Leave a Reply

