(158) Shaking Off the Dust

imageI took yesterday off from writing on this blog.  It probably was not the best idea because now I find myself trying to get started again.

But, it will come.

A friend posted the above meme, so I thought it was a good place to start. I took the day off from writing because I knew it would be good for my soul. I had a fabulous music lesson — I’ve decided to pick up the guitar again and got into some finger picking and blues shuffling that was an absolute blast. More on that as it develops.

I read a lot, too. I recently purchased the Paul Simon: Words and Music guidebook that commemorates his exhibition at that Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum in Cleveland.  I am not going to get up to see the exhibit any time soon, so I figured this was the next best thing. The book reflects the exhibit —  most of it is in his own words, except for the timeline. His writing process is not a whole lot different than any writer, but it is still awe-inspiring to read what he has to say. As someone who thinks that perhaps she is moving toward songwriting, whatever Paul has to say is golden.

Playing my music and reading about the creation of other music went a long way yesterday to “washing the dust off my soul.” I continue today, as I finish a wonderful novel I’ve been reading and start something new.

This is where I am. Taking each day as an artist, and finding the gifts to be found.

Right now I am listening to The Mavericks.  Raul Malo’s voice is so amazing, I’ve decided I need to share it. Shake off a little more dust and listen to the pure artistry here as he sings a J.D. Souther song. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

