(151) My Way

Today I woke up and, as I always do, checked out the daily poem on the “A Year of Being Here” website.  This one is called “Adrift” by William Stafford:

Let my dream while I’m wide-awake

loose. Let me be drowned, baptized,

in the light given me. Day comes around,

night, fall, winter, spring,

summer. Leaves overhead, underfoot.

Waves arrive, buffets from friends

offended, enemies. Let it all come:

this is my way, this is the canoe I’m in.

I found myself reading and re-reading and re-reading this poem. Why I cannot say. I just kept taking in the words over and over again.

Then I thought, What song does this remind me of?  At first I thought of “You’ve Got a Friend,” because of the seasons being mentioned. But that didn’t seem to fit.

Then I thought of “My Way,” and I knew that was it.

Never mind that the words “my way” are in the poem.  I actually didn’t even notice that until I had chosen the song.

It was 17 years ago today that my dad made his transition. After he died we found some of the words to “My Way” handwritten in his Day Timer on a day in January. It was then I knew why I was led to this song today.

I searched You Tube for the right video, which was kind of hard to find. But I found one of Elvis Presley singing it live just a few months before he died.  “And now the end is near…” was true for both Elvis and my dad.

Dad&Kate
Dad with his granddaughter Kate 1990

I don’t recall exactly which words of “My Way” my dad had written down, but if I had to guess it would be this part:

For what is a man, what has he got?

If not himself, then he has naught

To say the things he truly feels and not the words of one who kneels

The record shows I took the blows and did it my way

(Love you, Dad.)

Leave a Reply

