(97) Tuesday Throwdown

Back to life, back to reality…

It went okay.

Day one of my 43 day countdown was flexible and at times fun. I made sure I meditated, played my mandolin, and did my sun salutations before school. Good thing, because now I am toast.

A couple of highlights:

My monolingual student was the star performer in the skits the kids performed today to reinforce our school behavior guidelines. She played a disrespectful student. Since she is always on her best behavior, this made it especially funny.

We were studying two poems today: Maya Angelou’s “Still I Rise” and Langston Hughes’ “I’m Still Here.” A boy in my last class actually put his own music to the Hughes poem, and it was quite good and unexpected.

And that poem is how I feel today.  “Snow has friz me, sun has baked me…but I’m still here!”

That about wraps it up! Tomorrow is another day of flexible, focused fun. Tonight is a live concert on television with Kris Kristofferson.  Better nap up so I don’t miss a thing!

Leave a Reply

