(28) Saved By Sky Again

image

Walking to the kitchen for a second cup of coffee, this sunrise caught my eye.  I had been up for nearly an hour scribbling in my journal, trying to unravel a problem at work. The sky reached out to me, and I immediately remembered I had not said my prayers yet today–something I usually do upon awakening.  I had been so caught up in my troubles, I had completely forgotten.

I took the time right then to say my daily series of prayers. I returned to my journal and everything seemed clearer. I know now what to do.  The Buddhist teacher Pema Chodron said it best: “Beyond all that fuss and bother is a big sky.”  I am grateful for this reminder once again.

Leave a Reply

