The 5 Questions for 365 Days

Today I read a reflection by author Parker Palmer in which he reflected on a poem called “We look with uncertainty” by Anne Hillman. Palmer drew five questions from the poem that he said, as poet Rilke suggested, could be used as questions to live for the coming year.

The questions are:
How can I let go of my need for fixed answers in favor of aliveness?
What is my next challenge in daring to be human?
How can I open myself to the beauty of nature and human nature?
Who or what do I need to learn to love next? And next? And next?
What is the new creation that wants to be born in and through me?

I have decided to actively live these questions for the next 365 days. I envision that many posts will be quite short, but some could be extensive, I suppose. I hope to share some humor and maybe find a tiny bit of wisdom (thus the owl totem above). I imagine that much of this will be inspired by songs and stories, both ones I read and ones I live. Certainly I will pull from my profession as a teacher and my struggle to be a musician. I never intended to put myself on such a project, but it came to me immediately as a possible response to the second question.

As I write this on the last day of 2014, I cannot even imagine what I will be writing a year from now. Cheers to a new year full of possibilities. Let’s do this!

Leave a Reply

